I have come to learn that you experience emotions and events that you did not anticipate when you are on an assignment and away from home. For me, this was completing my doctorate in nursing “officially” here in Romania and I looked around and had no family or friends to celebrate with. Those who supported me and held me up when I thought I cannot do this one more minute were no where to be found to see that I made it. But then I thought I have a Romanian family so I should celebrate with them, and celebrate we did! And the reality is they are just as proud of me as my family and friends back home. So the good news is I will celebrate this milestone event twice. And when I return home, another celebration to be had!

Dr. Ciocarlan, the hospice medical director and I

Dr. Ciocarlan, the hospice medical director and I

The hospice medical team

The hospice medical team

Tony, the nurse manager and Dr. Cernea

Tony, the nurse manager and Dr. Cernea

A gift I will treasure , the traditional Romanian shirt called an ie

A gift I will treasure , the traditional Romanian shirt called an ie

