Where to start??? The apartment finding was without a doubt challenging. You arrive in a new city, can’t speak the language, and have no clue where you are or where you need to be in relation to where you are going. But with the help of some “friends” I was able to locate one within walking distance to the hospice. But it seems my jetlag did not allow me to realize that it had nothing other than the furniture in it. For those who can’t figure out why that is a problem it means, no way to cook anything and no bedding/linen. Also, no cable or internet which required me to purchase a year’s worth of service for a 6 month stay. At some point you can’t fight the system (and if you can’t speak the language you are fighting a losing battle anyway) and just hand over the money. Once I moved in the fun really started! A torrential rain revealed the balcony area (where you dry your clothes) leaks and the rain was coming in as fast as it was coming down. And then the shower didn’t drain, and then the washing machine leaked, and then the toilet leaked. And then there was no hot water for 8 days. You get the idea. But, I love my apartment (yes, could do without all the problems) but the tram stops right outside my door and now that I know how to get it around it is awesome. The piazza (produce) market is down the street and I have had the best fruits and vegetables imaginable. Unfortunately, the fresh bread is in there too and there is a strong current that pulls me that way when I enter. For the record, Romanians are the largest consumer of bread in Europe so the saying applies, when in Romania eat like the Romanians!

image

image

image

The piazza

The piazza

The tram

The tram

