So lets just suffice it to say that adjusting to life in a new country is no easy feat. Fortunately, most younger Romanianians speak English so that has helped tremendously. The apartment hunting warrants a blog all it’s own and I need time to recover…stay tuned for that blog. Most of the necessary chores are challenging. Tried to switch my phone to a Romanian service and it requires a year contract. Well that doesn’t work so had to buy a cheap phone to use in Romania and will keep my iPhone for my email and the apps that are turning out to be very helpful. Asked for directions yesterday and the person pointed and said 500 meters. No clue how far that was but logged in 4 miles walking yesterday so I just said what’s another 500 meters. I am hoping the walking will help with losing weight but there is a patisserie on every other block (yummy bakery) and the freshly made pastries are staring at me in the window:) and the locals are lined up in the morning at them so there must be something good in there.
Romania is a big city of 2 million and in some disrepair. You definitely don’t want to text and walk as you stand a good chance of ending up on the ground. The people are helpful but not the smiling southern hospitality I am use to. The park was filled with people enjoying the sun and kids playing. The reality is that no matter where we are from, we are more alike than we are different.
Peace,
Holly

Romanian House of Parliament; 2nd largest in the world

Romanian House of Parliament; 2nd largest in the world

